Snow Day = Movie Time!

Unfortunately the East Coast Snowmageddon (Storm Jonas) didn’t lead to any lovely, relaxing snow days, just one measly 90-minute delay. Regardless, I spent most of it shoveling snow.

Had it been a snow day, however, these are the movies I would have spent my time binging on…

The Matrix

Needs no explanation. If you haven’t seen it, you’re missing out on one of the best things to ever come out of the 90’s besides me 🙂

 

Breakfast Club

Occasionally wish my senior year was highlighted by this kind of detention

 

Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Can’t get enough breakfast? (or Audrey Hepburn…?)

 

Sabrina

There’s a long story behind my name, this movie is part of it

 

Roman Holiday

Audrey Hepburn and Gregory Peck are easily two of my favorite actors

 

Mad Max

The older one is better, and a cult classic

 

Gumball Rally

I LOVE THIS MOVIE. I also secretly want to be selected by these guys so I can race across the country and evade dopey looking policemen

 

V for Vendetta

In order to properly introduce you to the movie, you must read this:

But on this most auspicious of nights, permit me then, in lieu of the more commonplace soubriquet, to suggest the character of this dramatis persona. Voila! In view humble vaudevillian veteran, cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the “vox populi” now vacant, vanished. However, this valorous visitation of a bygone vexation stands vivified, and has vowed to vanquish these venal and virulent vermin, van guarding vice and vouchsafing the violently vicious and voracious violation of volition.The only verdict is vengeance; a vendetta, held as a votive not in vain, for the value and veracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous. Verily this vichyssoise of verbiage veers most verbose, so let me simply add that it’s my very good honor to meet you and you may call me V.

 

Monty Python

Everything they do is funny. Including breathing. May you sacrifice your entire snow day watching them.

 

Revenge of the Nerds

When you get into college, the frat you must join is Lambda Lambda Lambda

 

Bruce Lee

I mean every movie he ever starred in.

 

Terminator(s)

All of these too.

 

RED

Bruce Willis = Retired Extremely Dangerous.

And watch the second one for badass Helen Mirren.

 

Die Hard

More Bruce Willis. He manages to take down Alan Rickman (RIP) and his goons singlehandedly, but I like to pretend Hans Gruber never died.

 

Fifth Element

My mom hates this movie. Enough Bruce Willis.

 

History of the World 

Watch all three parts. Mel Brooks is amazing!

 

Eddie Izzard

Do you have a flaaag?

 

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

Appropriate for the occasion if I do say so myself.

 

Peter Gabriel Secret World Tour – Live in Athens

This isn’t exactly a movie, but when I was growing up my dad would play this concert for me all the time. Yes, Paula Cole is wearing Doc Martens with a gown. Yes, Tony Levin is wearing knee pads. Yes, everyone does jump into a suitcase at the end of the performance. And it’s amazing! Every single second of it.

